How to Delete Repository in Github

Developers like to save their work on GitHub. As the years go by, you may want to delete some of them. Then, we will learn how to delete GitHub repository.

Steps to delete Github repository

Before moving to a guide on how to delete GitHub repository, here's a summary of the steps we're going to follow:

  1. Log in to your GitHub account
  2. Open the profile navigation menu and select your GitHub repository list
  3. Select the repository of your choice
  4. Open the repository settings page
  5. Scroll down to the bottom and find the "Danger zone"
  6. Click on the "Delete this repository" button
  7. GitHub will prompt you a warning message. Type the name of the repository you want to delete.
  8. Back to the homepage. You successfully deleted your Github repository ✨🚮

If you're new to Git, you can learn how to create a repository in GitHub, then come back to this article to delete it.

How to delete repository on GitHub

Now that you're aware of the 8 steps to remove your repository. Let's do it together!

Step 1. Log in to your GitHub account

Open the GitHub login page, and connect to your account. Once you log in to your account, you will be redirected to another page.

GitHub login page
GitHub login page

Step 2. Open your GitHub repository list

At the top right of your screen, click on your profile picture to see the navigation menu. Click on "Your repositories" to open the repository list.

GitHub navigation menu
GitHub navigation menu

Step 3. Select a GitHub repository to delete

On this page, you will see all your existing repositories (public and private). Click on the one you want to remove.

For example, I will delete the GitHub repository we created in my guide about how to start with Git ("Hello-Github-Repository").

GitHub repository list
GitHub repository list

Step 4. Open the repository settings

Now you're on the repository page, click on the "Settings" in the menu.

GitHub repository page
GitHub repository page

Step 5. Scroll to the "Danger zone"

In the first settings page, scroll down to the bottom until you see a red box entitled "Danger zone".

GitHub repository settings first page
GitHub repository settings first page

Step 6. Delete GitHub repository

At the right of the following text: "Once you delete a repository, there is no going back. Please be certain.", you can click on the "Delete this repository" button. A pop-up should appear.

GitHub repository settings "Danger zone"
GitHub repository settings "Danger zone"

Step 7. Confirm the repository deletion

You're at the last step! All you need to do is to confirm that you agree to remove the repository permanently. If you want to confirm, type your repository name like on the picture below.

GitHub delete repository
GitHub delete repository

Note: You need to type your GitHub username followed by the complete repository name. If you don't know what to type, you can find it in the last sentence: "Please type your-username/your-repository-name to confirm."

Step 8. Back to the homepage

If the deletion is a success, you will be redirected to the homepage. A success message is under the navigation bar. You're back to the homepage, and you successfully deleted your Github repository! ✨🚮

Delete a repository - GitHub confirmation message
Delete a repository - GitHub confirmation message

Here you are! You learned how to delete repository from GitHub.


➡️ If you want more content like this, you can follow me on Twitter, where I tweet about web development, self-improvement, and my journey as a fullstack developer!

Learn to code with simple and concrete examples.

English / Français